MEET OUR NEIGHBORS

Because the Côte des Basques is fully part of Hotel Saint-Julien's DNA, we are always looking for inspiring experiences to help you make the most of your stay. Meet the key personalities of our neighborhood. Meet our neighbours.

FOLLOW @hungrybelly.biarritz

The starting point of this crazy adventure is on the other side of the world, in India. Léa, who was already passionate about pastry making, realised that the Indians were very fond of Western gastronomy. She decided to return to France to train, in order to come back and open her shop in Bombay. 

An opportunity in a Bordeaux restaurant made her discover this charming region, the Basque country. She then decided to move to Biarritz rather than Bombay and opened her shop next to the airport. A few months ago, she moved to the heart of Biarritz for the pleasure of locals and tourists.

Her pastel-coloured restaurant offers a wide range of pastries available by the slice, including gluten-free and lactose-free options and a weekly vegetarian menu for lunch. Léa and her team also make bespoke cakes for their customers (to be ordered in advance). 

12 Avenue de la Gare
Biarritz 64200

FOLLOW @hungrybelly.biarritz

FOLLOW @lobitacafe

Manuel arrived in France in 2005 to play rugby, and for 13 years he played professionally for several French clubs, including Biarritz. It is in this region that he decided to come back and settle down with his wife and children. The proximity of Spain, the beach and the mountains make the Basque country an ideal living environment for him and his family.

His Argentinean roots and the passion for coffee passed on to him by his father led him to open a coffee shop in the heart of the Marché des Halles in Biarritz. A story of family, passion and sharing, as he puts it so well: "For us, coffee represents a moment of sharing with others. As an expat we wanted to offer a place where people feel comfortable, and that makes you feel closer to home, or creates a new home for you."

Manuel is the coffee expert and his wife, Pilar, has mastered the many cakes they offer to perfection. We personally have a soft spot for their cinnamon roll.

Halles Centrales
Biarritz 64200

FOLLOW @lobitacafe

FOLLOW @nutsbiarritz

Two years ago, Carole and her daughter decided to create a concept that did not yet exist in Biarritz: a restaurant open all day with a weekly menu of fresh and local products. 

They carefully selected all the vendors involved in the project, including a group of organic fruit and vegetable producers from the Landes region and an association that recovers organic waste to transform it into compost and redistribute it to local farmers. 

Open all day, Nuts offers a wide choice of coffee and juices to accompany your breakfast or lunch and delicious pastries for your afternoon snack. This hybrid restaurant is led in the kitchen by Giulia, who shares her taste for Mediterranean and Oriental cuisine, particularly through her Italian roots. 

Anecdote: One afternoon, two people who came to work for a few hours met at Nuts. The next day and for the rest of the week, they came together for a coffee. The first Nuts couple was formed!
 

2 rue du Helder
Biarritz 64200

FOLLOW @nutsbiarritz

FOLLOW @maisonarosteguy

Founded in 1875, the Arostéguy grocery store is the oldest delicatessen in France and, above all, a beautiful family affair. Pierre Arostéguy's great-great uncle founded this institution in the center of Biarritz in order to offer foreign products to the international clientele who came to stay in the Basque country. Today, this delicatessen features more than 4000 labels of rare and excellent products. 

 "My grandfather, with whom I worked for about ten years, taught me how to blend teas, spices, to combine flavors and we continued this tradition. It is the addition of the four generations before me that have allowed me to continue. This continuity resulted in the creation of the Maison Arostéguy brand which is now sold all over the world. 

Two years ago, Pierre opened 1001 Fromages, where he offers a selection of over 150 cheeses, from the classic to the most original. 

Fun fact: On a stormy evening in Biarritz, Félix, Pierre Arostéguy's grandfather, anxious to be of service to his customers, went to deliver two eggs to the occupant of the Biarritz lighthouse. Not having any change, the customer gave him a 500-franc note and told him she would come and collect it the next day. As soon as she got to her car, a gust of wind ripped off the bonnet, broke the windscreen and rushed into her mackintosh, taking the 500 franc note with it. The next day the lady came to collect his money, which he returned. He lost 500 euros twice, his windscreen and his car bonnet.

5 avenue Victor Hugo
Biarritz 64200

FOLLOW @maisonarosteguy

FOLLOW @les3gracesbiarritz

The first “Grace” is Karen, a German who studied art and ended up working in fashion in Paris.  
The 2nd “Grace” is Carole, a French archaeologist who lived in Peru for 15 years and is passionate about jewellery. 
The third? Well, it’s you, the customer, who will be sublimated by their creations. 

Their boutique, located a few steps from the hotel, is a cocoon tastefully decorated with the works and pieces they choose. Here you will find Karen's swimwear and clothing under the brand name Zexea, which means house in Basque; with pieces 100% made in France from eco-friendly Italian materials. And Carole's jewellery, under the brand Motché, which she creates with an artisan mastering pre-Columbian techniques and assembled in France. 

For the past two years, a selection of designers has also been exhibiting in the shop. Their project is committed: "We want to promote women's creation, partly local but not only, with products made in Europe". 

4bis Avenue Carnot
Biarritz 64200

FOLLOW @les3gracesbiarritz

FOLLOW @maisondezamy

About ten years ago, Sara and Guillaume decided to change their lives; they left their jobs in Lille and moved to Sara's home country, Italy. Guillaume, a true epicurean and eager to work with his hands, began training as an ice cream maker with the best master gelato makers in the country. They returned to France to open their shop and naturally chose to settle in Biarritz. As Guillaume puts it so well: "Being from here, I've always spent my holidays here, so the combination of ice cream and holidays meant that we settled in Biarritz". 

Their leitmotiv: everything they sell, they make themselves. From the biscuit to their famous chocolate sorbet, everything is mastered to perfection at the Dezamy. 
The ice creams evolve according to the production of local farmers, their milk supplier is only 40km away from the shop; a perfect cocktail to create tasty and local ice creams. 

Anecdote: They showcased their expertise to world leaders at the G7 summit 
in Biarritz two years ago.

11 rue des Halles
Biarritz 64200

FOLLOW @maisondezamy

FOLLOW @colorsofsurfing

In a retro-modern style, Louisa and Antonin have created more than a store, a place to live. Specializing in surfboards, whether for purchase, hire or subscription, Colors of Surfing has a multitude of brands and models. In parallel, they have developed their concept with a clothing corner where they present their brand with a summer and a winter collection, completed by pieces from local designers. They have also designed out a part of the shop to offer hot and cold drinks and pastries from a local shopkeeper. 

In just one and a half years, they have managed to create a shop to their image: "A place to live in order to speak to everyone, surfers and non-surfers, of all ages". In order to make this rich place of life radiate, they regularly organize exhibitions and live shows in the store. 

Fun fact: Due to the COVID-19 health crisis, renovations initially planned in the store were  stopped before it even started. This did not stop Antonin & Louisa who renovated the whole shop, with the help of their friends : locals from the neighborhood, creating a unique bond with their neighbors. 
 

22 Avenue de Verdun
Biarritz 64200

FOLLOW @colorsofsurfing

660/Voisins/Site-_Mosaique_pages_experiences_amp_voisins_3.png
Quick Response Code

À LA RENCONTRE DE NOS VOISINS

Parce que la Côte des Basques fait partie de l’ADN de l’Hôtel Saint-Julien, nous sommes toujours en quête d’expériences inspirantes pour vous aider à profiter au maximum de votre séjour. Allez à la rencontre des personnalités incontournables de notre quartier. #LesVoisinsduSaintJulien

SUIVRE @hungrybelly.biarritz

Le point de départ de cette folle aventure se situe à l’autre bout du monde, en Inde. Léa, déjà passionnée par la pâtisserie, se rend compte de l’engouement des indiens pour la gastronomie occidentale. Elle décide de rentrer en France pour se former, afin de revenir pour ouvrir sa boutique à Bombay. 

Une opportunité dans un restaurant Bordelais lui fait découvrir cette région pleine de charme, le pays basque. Elle oriente donc son projet vers Biarritz plutôt que Bombay et ouvre sa boutique à côté de l’aéroport. Depuis quelques mois, elle a déménagé dans le centre-ville de Biarritz pour le plaisir des habitants et des touristes.

Son restaurant aux tons pastels propose un large choix de pâtisserie disponible à la part, notamment des options sans gluten et sans lactose, et une carte hebdomadaire de plats végétariens pour le déjeuner. Léa et son équipe confectionnent également des gâteaux sur-mesure pour leurs clients (à commander à l’avance). 

12 Avenue de la Gare
Biarritz 64200

SUIVRE @hungrybelly.biarritz

SUIVRE @lobitacafe

Arrivé en France en 2005 pour le rugby, Manuel fait une carrière professionnelle dans plusieurs clubs français durant 13 ans, notamment celui de Biarritz. C’est dans cette région qu’il affectionne qu’il décide de revenir pour s’installer avec sa femme et ses enfants. La proximité avec l’Espagne, la plage et la montagne font du Pays Basque un cadre de vie idéal pour lui et sa famille.

Ses racines argentines et la passion que lui a transmis son père pour le café, le mène à ouvrir un coffee shop au cœur du Marché des Halles de Biarritz. Une histoire de famille, de passion et de partage comme il le dit très bien : « Le café représente pour nous un moment de partage avec les autres. En tant qu’expatrié nous voulions offrir un endroit où les gens se sentent à l’aise, et qui te fait sentir plus près de chez toi, ou qui te crée un nouveau chez toi. »

Manuel est l’expert du café et sa femme, Pilar, maîtrise à la perfection les nombreux gâteaux qu’ils proposent. Nous avons personnellement un petit faible pour leur cinnamon roll.

Halles Centrales
Biarritz 64200

SUIVRE @lobitacafe

SUIVRE @nutsbiarritz

Il y a 2 ans, Carole et sa fille décident de créer le concept qui n’existe pas encore sur Biarritz : un restaurant ouvert toute la journée avec une carte hebdomadaire de produits frais et locaux.

Elles sélectionnent avec minutie tous les acteurs qui participent au projet, en passant par un groupement de producteurs de fruits et légumes BIO venant des Landes ou encore via une association qui récupère les déchets organiques pour les transformer en compost et les redistribuer aux agriculteurs locaux. 

Ouvert toute la journée, Nuts propose un large choix de café et jus pour accompagner votre petit déjeuner ou lunch et de délicieuses pâtisseries pour le goûter. Ce restaurant hybride est dirigé en cuisine par Giulia, qui partage son goût pour la cuisine méditerranéenne et orientale notamment à travers ses origines italiennes. 

Anecdote : Un après-midi, deux personnes venues travailler quelques heures se sont rencontrées chez Nuts. Le lendemain et le reste de la semaine, ils sont venus ensemble prendre un café, le premier couple Nuts !

2 rue du Helder
Biarritz 64200

SUIVRE @nutsbiarritz

SUIVRE @ maisonarosteguy

Fondée en 1875, l’épicerie Arostéguy est la plus vieille épicerie fine de France et surtout une belle histoire de famille. L’arrière arrière-grand-oncle de Pierre Arostéguy a fondé cette institution au centre de Biarritz afin de proposer des produits étrangers à la clientèle internationale qui venait séjourner dans le pays basque. Cette épicerie compte aujourd’hui plus de 4 000 références de produits rares et d’excellence. 

« Mon grand-père avec qui j’ai travaillé pendant une dizaine d’années, m’a appris à assembler les thés et les épices, à associer les saveurs et on a continué cette tradition. C’est l’addition des 4 générations avant moi qui m’ont permis de continuer. » Cette continuité s’est traduite par la création de la marque Maison Arostéguy qui est aujourd’hui vendue dans le monde entier. 

Depuis 2 ans, Pierre a ouvert 1001 Fromages, où il propose une sélection de plus de 150 fromages, du classique au plus originale. 

Anecdote : Par un soir de tempête à Biarritz, Félix le grand-père de Pierre Arostéguy, soucieux de rendre service à ces clients, est parti livrer deux œufs à l’occupante du phare de Biarritz. N’ayant pas de monnaie, la cliente lui donne un billet de 500 francs en lui indiquant qu’elle viendrait chercher la monnaie le lendemain. A peine arrivé à sa voiture, une bourrasque de vent arrache son capot, casse son pare-brise et s’engouffre dans son imperméable en emportant le billet de 500 francs. Le lendemain, la dame est venue chercher son argent, qu’il a rendu. Il a perdu 500 francs deux fois, son pare-brise et son capot de voiture.

5 avenue Victor Hugo
Biarritz 64200

SUIVRE @ maisonarosteguy

SUIVRE @les3gracesbiarritz

La 1ère grâce se nomme Karen, une allemande qui étudie l’art pour venir finalement travailler dans la mode à Paris.  
La 2ème grâce, Carole, une archéologue française ayant habité pendant 15 ans au Pérou et passionnée de bijoux. 
La 3ème ? Et bien c’est vous, client(e), qui allez être sublimé(e) par leurs créations. 

Leur boutique, située à quelques pas de l’hôtel, est un cocon décoré avec goût par les œuvres et pièces qu’elles choisissent. On y découvre les maillots de bain et vêtements créés par Karen sous la marque Zexea, qui signifie maison en basque ; avec des pièces 100% fabriquées en France à partir de matières écoresponsables italiennes. Et les bijoux de Carole, sous la marque Motché, qu’elle crée avec un artisan maitrisant les techniques précolombiennes et assemblés en France. 

Depuis deux ans, une sélection de créatrices expose également dans la boutique. Leur projet est engagé : « Nous voulons mettre en avant la création féminine, locale en partie mais pas que, avec du made in Europe ».  

4bis Avenue Carnot
Biarritz 64200

SUIVRE @les3gracesbiarritz

SUIVRE @maisondezamy

Il y a une dizaine d’années, Sara et Guillaume décident de changer de vie ; ils quittent leurs emplois à Lille et partent dans le pays d’origine de Sara, l’Italie. Épicurien dans l’âme et désireux de travailler de ses mains, Guillaume se lance dans une formation de glacier auprès des meilleurs maîtres glaciers du pays. Ils reviennent en France pour ouvrir leur boutique et choisissent tout naturellement de s’installer à Biarritz. Comme le dit si bien Guillaume : « Originaire d’ici, j’ai toujours passé mes vacances ici, donc l’association de la glace et des vacances ont fait que nous nous sommes installés à Biarritz ». 

Leur leitmotiv : tout ce qu’ils vendent, ils le fabriquent eux même. Du biscuit à leur fameux sorbet au chocolat, tout est maitrisé à la perfection chez les Dezamy. 
Les glaces évoluent selon la production des agriculteurs locaux, leur fournisseur de lait se trouve à seulement 40km de la boutique ; un cocktail parfait pour créer des glaces savoureuses et locales. 

Anecdote : Ils ont mis en avant leur savoir faire lors du G7 qui a eu lieu à Biarritz il y a deux ans. 

11 rue des Halles
Biarritz 64200
 

SUIVRE @maisondezamy

SUIVRE @colorsofsurfing

Dans un style rétro-moderne, Louisa et Antonin ont créé plus qu’une boutique, un lieu de vie. Spécialisé dans les planches de surf, que ce soit à l’achat, à la location ou à l’abonnement, Colors of Surfing possède une multitude de marques et de modèles. En parallèle, ils ont développé leur concept avec un corner vêtement où ils présentent leur marque avec une collection été et une hiver, complété par des pièces de créateurs locaux. Et enfin, ils ont aménagé une partie de la boutique afin de proposer des boissons chaudes et froides ainsi que des pâtisseries d’un commerçant du coin. 

En seulement 1 an et demi, ils ont su créer une boutique qui leur ressemble « Un lieu de vie afin de parler à tout le monde, surfeur et non surfeur, de tous les âges. ». Afin de faire rayonner ce lieu de vie riche, ils organisent régulièrement des expos et concerts dans la boutique. 

Anecdote : En raison de la crise sanitaire du COVID-19, les rénovations initialement prévues dans le magasin ont été arrêtées avant même de commencer. Cela n'a pas arrêté Antonin & Louisa qui ont rénové l'ensemble du magasin, avec l'aide de leurs amis : des habitants du quartier, créant ainsi un lien unique avec leurs voisins.

22 Avenue de Verdun
Biarritz 64200

SUIVRE @colorsofsurfing

660/Voisins/Site-_Mosaique_pages_experiences_amp_voisins_3.png
Quick Response Code